Unknown Mortal Orchestra Announce New Album, ‘Sex & Food’

Psychedelic rock band, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, announced the release date for their upcoming album Sex & Food. The band’s fourth studio album will be released on Jagjaguwar Records on April 6. The album now available for pre-sale promises to focus on darker themes having been recorded in various locations around the world.

The album’s first single, “American Guilt,” was recorded in Hanoi, Vietnam during the monsoon season with additional recording being done in Mexico City around the time of the devastating earthquakes.

Ruban Nielson said about the song, “American Guilt” is an attempt to capture some of the feelings floating around these days. In a perverse way I wanted to embrace this abandoned genre of rock music that I keep reading is “dead” and invite people to hear what this living dead genre sounds like in the UMO universe.

Nielson added that”additional recording was done in Mexico City but our sessions were interrupted by one of the devastating earthquakes that occurred there last year. As we slept in the Parque de Mexico, unable to get back to our Airbnb, we heard a man yell “viva la Mexico!” and I put this in the song out of respect for them.”

Watch the animated video for “American Guilt” below.


Track listing for Sex & Food:
1. A God Called Hubris
2. Major League Chemicals
3. Ministry of Alienation
4. Hunnybee
5. Chronos Feasts on His Children
6. American Guilt
7. The Internet of Love (That Way)
8. Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays
9. This Doomsday
10. How Many Zeros
11. Not in Love We’re Just High
12. If You’re Going to Break Yourself

-By Antonio Villasenor-Baca

Leave a Reply