SCANDAL Announces New Album in 2020

The iconic Japanese pop-rock band, SCANDAL, dropped an early Valentine’s Day gift with the news that their new album, Kiss from the darkness, will be out February 14 of 2020. It will also be the first album of the band’s on their label, her, and is licensed to JPU Records for international release.

The international release of SCANDAL’s new album via JPU Records will feature English lyric translations and transliterations, alternate cover art, and the “Magazine Edition” will include an English version of the SCANDAL magazine also entitled her. This is the first time the publication has been available in a language other than Japanese.

The band wrote all of their lyrics for the upcoming album, but in addition to also worked with several renown producers such as SASUKE, Yusuke Takeda, Chiaki Sato, and others.

SCANDAL formed in 2006 and have seen risen to prominence not just for having their music appear in some of the most popular anime series such as Pokemon and Fullmetal Alchemist, which they will build on with this album through the track “A.M.D.K.J.” (pronounced “amidakuji”) that will appear as the ending theme to the latest series of the iconic anime GeGeGe no Kitaro.

But they have also had 17 singles land on Japan’s Weekly Oricon Singles Chart along with all of six of their albums rank at least top five of the Weekly Album Chart and at least top three for their compilation albums.

While SCANDAL are still venturing out to new territories and releasing more music, their impact has already been felt at a national level as they are accredited for a national rise in young women learning to play a musical instrument in Japan.

Kiss from the darkness Tracklist:

Kiss the darkness (Magazine Edition) album artwork.

1. Tonight
2. Masterpiece
3. Fuzzy
4. Saisyuheiki kimi
5. Laundry Laundry
7. Ceramic Blue
8. Kinenbi
9. Mabataki
10. A.M.D.K.J. (ending theme to anime GeGeGe no Kitaro)
11. Tsuki

By Antonio Villasenor-Baca

Leave a Reply