The Airborne Toxic Event Release First Single From Upcoming Album

Fans of the Airborne Toxic Event are getting spoiled today, as the band released the first single “Come On Out” from their forthcoming album, Hollywood Park which will be out May 8th via Rounder Records. The album coincides and correlates with the frontman Mikel Jollett’s memoire named like the album out May 5th.

In many ways, TATE’s sixth studio album alining with Mikel’s memoire seems kismet. The band’s lyrics have always leaned to the poetic side, and the name for the band comes from a novel (Don DeLillo’s novel, White Noise)!

The songs in Hollywood Park, mirror the chapters of the memoire Mikel has explained.

For instance, this newest song “Come On Out,” and it’s the band’s first release in five years. The song “is about the night I ran away from home when I was 11 years old. It’s also about child abuse and anger and the oddly dangerous world of children,” he said.

Mikel Jollett will also be doing a solo book tour interspersed between the band’s new tour dates in support of the new album.

The Airborne Toxic Event Tour Dates:
Tue Mar 31 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey – SOLD OUT 
Wed Apr 1 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey – SOLD OUT 
Thu Apr 2 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey – SOLD OUT 
Sat Apr 4 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey – SOLD OUT 
Tue Apr 7 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom – SOLD OUT 
Wed Apr 8 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom – SOLD OUT 
Thu Apr 9 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom – SOLD OUT 
Fri Apr 10 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom – SOLD OUT 
Wed May 27 – Phoenix, AZ – The Van Buren
Fri May 29 – Austin, TX – Emo’s
Sat May 30 – Houston, TX – House of Blues
Sun May 31 – Dallas, TX – House of Blues
Tue June 2 – Kansas City, MO – Truman  
Wed June 3 – St. Louis, MO – Del Mar
Thu June 4 – Nashville, TN – The Basement East
Fri June 5 – Atlanta, GA – Buckhead Theatre
Sat June 6 – Charlotte, NC – The Underground
Sun June 7 – Cleveland, OH – Wonderstruck Festival
Tue June 9 – Toronto, ON- Danforth Music Hall
Wed June 10 – Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom
Fri June 12 – Boston, MA – House of Blues
Sat June 13 – Philadelphia, PA – TLA – SOLD OUT 
Sun June 14 – Philadelphia, PA – TLA
Tue June 16 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
Wed June 17 – Albany, NY – Upstate Concert Hall
Thu June 18 – Detroit, MI – St Andrews Hall
Fri June 19 – Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre – SOLD OUT 
Sat June 20 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue 
Mon June 24 – Boulder, CO – Fox Theatre
Tue June 23 – Denver, CO – Ogden Theatre
Fri June 26 – Seattle, WA – The Showbox – SOLD OUT 
Sat June 27 – Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom
Sun June 28 – Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
Tue June 30 – Sacramento, CA – Ace of Spades
Wed July 1 – San Diego, CA – Observatory
Sat Aug 1 – San Francisco – Davies Symphony Hall
with The San Francisco Symphony
Fri Oct 9 – Los Angeles, CA – Greek Theatre
Sat Oct 10 – Crystal Bay, NV – The Crown Room
Mon Oct 12 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory
Wed Oct 14 – Colorado Springs, CO – The Black Sheep  
Fri Oct 16 – Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom
Sat Oct 17 – Omaha, NE – Waiting Room
Sun Oct 18 – Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s
Mon Oct 19 – Madison, WI – Majestic Theatre
Tue Oct 20 – Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue
Thu Oct 22 – New York, NY – Beacon Theatre
Fri Oct 23 – Rochester, NY – Anthology
Sat Oct 24 – Pittsburgh, PA – Roxian Theatre
Sun Oct 25 – Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall
Tue Oct 27 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
Wed Oct 28 – Asheville, NC – Orange Peel
Mikel Jollett’s Book Tour Dates:
Fri May 1 – Los Angeles, CA – First Congregational Church  
Sat May 2 – San Francisco, CA – First Unitarian Society
Mon May 4 – Brooklyn, NY – St. Joseph’s College
Tue May 5 – New York, NY – The Strand
Wed May 6 – Washington, DC – GW Betts
Thu May 7 – Providence, RI – Columbus Theatre
Fri May 8 – Boston, MA – City Space
Sat May 9 – Austin, TX – Book People
Mon May 11 – Chicago, IL – Everybody’s Coffee: Wilson’s Abbey  
Tue May 12 – Denver, CO – Tattered Cover
Mon May 18 – Seattle, WA – Town Hall

By Antonio Villaseñor-Baca

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s