Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever Announce Sophomore Album

Melbourne rockers Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever are back with their sophomore album, Sideways to New Italy, out June 5th via Sub Pop. The album announcement comes with a the second single, “She’s There” and its accompanying video.

The five piece band consisting of Tom Russo, Joe White, Fran Keaney, Joe Russo, and Marcel Tussie return and follow up their debut album, Hope Downs which came out in 2018.

The title for the new album comes from New Italy, a village near band member Tussie’s village, called New Italy which was by Venetian immigrants in Australia in the late 1800’s.

Fran Keaney says about the album, “I wanted to write songs that I could use as some sort of bedrock of hopefulness to stand on, something to be proud of. A lot of the songs on the new record are reaching forward and trying to imagine an idyll of home and love.”

“She’s There” is the second single from the forthcoming album. The track is accompanied by a video directed by Nick McKinlay at Melbourne’s Coburg Motor Inn.

“We tried to convey that feeling in a dream where you need to be somewhere, and you don’t really know why, but you are determined to overcome every obstacle to get there,” says the band.

Sideways to New Italy album cover artwork.

Sideways to New Italy Tracklist:
1.The Second Of The First
2. Falling Thunder
3. She’s There
4. Beautiful Steven
5. The Only One
6. Cars In Space
7. Cameo
8. Not Tonight
9. Sunglasses At The Wedding
10. The Cool Change

By Antonio Villaseñor-Baca

Leave a Reply