Lotic Announces Debut Album, ‘Power’

Berlin musician, Lotic, released a single, “Hunted,” with the announcement that their first  full-length album will be out July 13th on Tri Angle Records. The album is an excavation into uncharted territory featuring vocal work from Lotic for the first time.

After to EP’s in 2015, Lotic sought to and accomplished reaching new depths and nuances not just by adding vocals but trhough the composition of the music. They said in a press release:

“It originally started as an empowerment album,” says Lotic. “I felt that I needed to offer something outside of myself, as sort of a healing moment. And then I lost my apartment. Mentally, I could only work on music once every three months or something. The question of what would be empowering — the answer to that changed so often over a two-year period. I had to figure out who I was all over again. With this record, I went back and incorporated all of my musical selves.”

This announcement also comes shortly after a personal statement on their Instagram account, saying “i just wanted to take a moment to kindly inform y’all that i am no longer using masculine pronouns. they/them/their, please.”

They are Houston born, and it was Texas where they studied electronic music and composition and saxophone. Moving in 2012 to Berlin, Germany, they helped in the formation of the Janus club collective. This to led to them being commissioned to work on two remixes for Björk’s, “Vulincura,” and subsequently were invited to be the opening act at her live show in Berlin.

Lotic’s album Power, is influenced by those Texas roots and the love of “Texan marching bands, as well as by Ta-Nehisi Coates’s Between The World And Me.

Aside from being available digitally, Power will also be released on limited edition vinyl, housed in a die cut sleeve designed by Marwan Kaabour, and will feature a vinyl only exclusive track called “Burn A Print.” The album artwork was shot my acclaimed director and photographer Matt Lambert, styled by Rich Aybar and features Lotic wearing clothes designed by Iris Van Herpen.

Power Tracklist:
1. Love and Light
2. Hunted
3. Bulletproof
4. Distribution of Care
5. The Warp and the Weft
6. Resilience
7. Fragility
8. Nerve
9. Heart
10. Power
11. Solace
Vinyl-only bonus track: Burn A Print.

By Antonio Villasenor-Baca

Leave a Reply