Durand Jones & The Indications Release New Track Ahead of Album

Durand Jones & the Indications are back with their sophomore album, American Love Call, which will be out March 1st via Dead Oceans / Colemine Records. Now they have released “Morning in America.”

Aaron Frazer of the band wrote the latest song. About the track, the band said “The lyrics speak to how many of us feel every day in this time of political and environmental uncertainty— flitting between anger, despair, anxiety but ever returning to a sliver of hope that there’s still a path forward.”

They also added that the inspiration for the song came from “The Poor People’s Campaign, a movement started by Martin Luther King Jr. shortly before his assassination. It functions today as a nonpartisan organization that promotes intersectionality and inter-movement unity as a tool of addressing systemic injustices.

*Dead Oceans exclusive bundle includes the album on limited transparent orange vinyl, limited edition transparent purple “Morning in America b/w Cruisin’ to the Park” Colemine Records white label promo 7”, a 7” adapter and poster.

unnamed-107
American Love Call album artwork. 

Durand Jones & The Indications’ Tour Dates (new dates in bold):
Tue. Jan. 22 – London, UK @ Dingwalls
Wed. Jan. 23 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Fri. Jan. 25 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso-Noord
Sun. Jan. 27 – Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Mon. Jan. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Mon. March 18 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Tue. March 19 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Thu. March 21 – Santa Fe, NM @ Tumbleroots
Fri. March 22 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sat. March 23 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah — SOLD OUT
Mon. March 25 – Tustin, CA @ Marty’s On Newport — SOLD OUT
Tue. March 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom — SOLD OUT
Wed. March 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom — SOLD OUT
Thu. March 28 – Santa Barbara, CA @ SOhO Restaurant & Music Club
Fri. March 29 – Oakland, CA @ The New Parish — SOLD OUT
Sat. March 30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent — SOLD OUT
Mon. April 1 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. April 2 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Thu. April 4 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. April 5 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Sat. April 6 – Kansas City, MO @ recordBar
Sun. April 7 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Tue. April 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Wed. April 10 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Thu. April 11 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. April 12 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Sat. April 13 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Sun. April 14 – North Charleston, SC @ High Water Festival
Tue. April 16 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Wed. April 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Fri. April 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
Sat. April 20 – Uncasville, CT @ Wolf Den at Mohegan Sun Resort
Sun. April 21 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Mon. April 22 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Wed. April 24 – Cincinnati, OH @ The Woodward Theater
Fri. April 26 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Sat. April 27 – Oxford, MS @ Double Decker Arts Festival
Sun. April 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Sat. May 11 – Bloomington, IN @ Indiana University w/ Neko Case
Sun. Sep. 15 – Telluride, CO @ Blues & Brews Festival

By Antonio Villasenor-Baca

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s