Alex Lahey Shares Last Single Ahead of Album

Alex Lahey released the last single. “Am I Doing It Right?” from her upcoming album, Best of Luck Club. The album will be out May 17th via Dead Oceans.

This upcoming album is a product of intense 12 hour songwriting sessions and exploration in the Nashville dive bar scene.

“In Nashville I was really inspired by the dive bar scene there and the idea that at these dive bars there’s no pretentious energy,” she explains. “Whether you’ve had the best day of your life or the worst day of your life, you can just sit up at the bar and turn to the person next to you – who has no idea who you are – and have a chat. And the response that you generally get at the end of the conversation is, ‘Best of luck,’ so The Best Of Luck Club is that place.”

The recording of the album happened in the Australian musician’s hometown of Melbourne. It was also co-produced by Grammy award winning producer Catherine Marks, who has worked with artists such as Local Natives and St. Vincent.

unnamed-154
The Best of Luck Club album cover.

The Best of Luck Club Tracklist:
01. I Don’t Get Invited to Parties Anymore
02. Am I Doing It Right
03. Interior Demeanour
04. Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself
05. Unspoken History
06. Misery Guts
07. Isabella
08. I Need To Move On
09. Black RMs
10. I Want To Live With You

Alex Lahey Tour Dates: 
Mon. May 13 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Wed. May 15 – Belfast, UK @ Empire Music Hall
Thu. May 16 – Dublin, IR @ The Grand Social
Fri. May 17 – Liverpool, UK @ Arts Club
Sun. May 19 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Mon. May 20 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu. May 23 – London, UK @ Oslo
Thu. June 6 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. June 7 – Perth, AU @ Rock Rover
Thu. June 13 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli
Fri. June 14 – Canberra, AU @ The Basement
Sat. June 15 – Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre
Sat. June 22 – Melbourne, AU @ Forum Melbourne
Fri. Aug. 9 – Sun. Aug. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands
Tue. Aug. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubadour
Wed. Aug. 14 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Aug. 16 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s
Sat. Aug. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co.
Mon. Aug. 19 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Aug. 20 – Nashville, TN @ Exit / In
Thu. Aug. 22 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. Aug. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. Aug. 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Aug. 25 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Aug. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Wed. Aug. 28 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Sun. Sep. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Tue. Sep. 3 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge

By Antonio Villasenor-Baca

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s