Wild Nothing Starts 2020 With a New EP

Wild Nothing, the project of Virginia-based Jack Tatum, has announced his new EP Laughing Gas will be out on January 31st via Captured Tracks.

The announcement came with the release of the first track off the EP, “Foyer.” The songs on this EP were originally meant to be a part of his critically acclaimed album, Indigo, from 2018 but instead were set aside.

Laughing Gas was recorded in Los Angeles and Richmond with Jorge Elbrecht.

About the EP, Wild Nothing said “I think of the EP’s title as being representative of a kind of manufactured bliss and loss of control. So much of people’s lives are caught up in the quest for wholeness and sometimes it feels so much easier to loosen our grip through these fabricated shortcuts, whether it’s escapism, self-medication, seeking external validation or any number of other things. I often find myself guilty of almost all of these, but ultimately I think this EP finds me in a place of trying to go easier on myself.”

Jack also shared tour dates in support of the 10th anniversary of Wild Nothing and the album Gemini.

Laughing Gas album artwork.

Laughing Gas EP Tracklist:
1. Sleight Of Hand
2. Dizziness
3. Foyer
4. Blue Wings
5. The World Is A Hungry Place

Wild Nothing Tour Dates:
Wed. May 13 – New York, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Thu. May 14 – Chicago, IL @  Thalia Hall *
Mon. May 18 – Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey Live! *
Tue. May 19 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk (outside) *
Wed. May 20 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *
Thu. May 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *
Fri. May 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Wiltern Theater * 

* w/ Beach Fossils

By Antonio Villaseñor-Baca

Leave a Reply