Alex Lahey Returns with New Single

Quickly cementing herself as one of the most prolific artists, Australian rocker Alex Lahey is back with her first single, “Sucker For Punishment,” the follow up to her 2019 album The Best of Luck Club.

Along with the new single, Lahey also announced tour dates w]along with the Regrettes and City & Colour.

“Sucker For Punishment” single artwork.

The single focuses on “Self-delusion,” Lahey said, explaining “I don’t think there has ever been a time where our actions and attitudes as individuals have had such an impact on broader humanity and the planet. Whether it’s a ‘think about it later’ attitude towards climate change, the undemocratic consequences of sharing personal data to big business online, a lethargicness in the face of political engagement or the need to be validated as a worthwhile individual through obtaining arbitrary units of engagement on social media –  we need to catch ourselves out before we suffer greater consequences.”

Alex Lahey Tour Dates (new dates in bold):
Fri. March 13 – Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms ^
Mon. March 16 – Glasgow, UK @ The Garage ^
Tue. March 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla ^
Wed. March 18 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy2 Birmingham ^
Thu. March 19 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom ^
Sat. March 21 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso Noord ^
Sun. March 22 – Antwerp, BE @ Kavka ^
Mon. March 23 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow ^
Tue. March 24 – Düsseldorf, DE @ Zaak ^
Thu. March 26 – Mainz, DE @ Kulturklub schon schön ^
Fri. March 27 – Paris, FR @ Nouveau Casino ^
Wed. April 15 – Adelaide, AU @ Thebarton Theatre *
Fri. April 17 – Fremantle, AU @ Fremantle Arts Center *
Mon. April 20 – Sydney, AU @ Enmore Theatre *
Wed. April 22 – Brisbane, AU @ The Fortitude Music Hall *
Fri. April 24 – Melbourne, AU @ Forum Theatre *
Sat. April 25 – Melbourne, AU @ Forum Theatre *
Tue. April 28 – Hobart, AU @ Odeon Theatre *
Sat. May 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Sun. May 31 – Costa Mesa, CA @ The Wayfarer
Mon. June 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ Moroccan Lounge
Tue. June 3 – San Jose, CA @ The Ritz
Fri. June 5 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club Crystal Cavern
Sat. June 6 – Sacramento, CA @ The Starlet Room at Harlow’s
Mon. June 8 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. June 9 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
 
* = w/ City & Colour
^ = w/ The Regrettes

By Antonio Villaseñor-Baca

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s